COVID resources banner WCA2021 baner logo 2
English Arabic Chinese (Simplified) French German Spanish

INDIA - Indian Society of Anaesthesiologists

Indian Society of Anaesthesiologists
"Naveen Niketan" 128/19,
Doctors Lane, Civil Hospital Road, Rohtak-124001 (Haryana)

Phone: +91 9812091051


President: Dr Muralidhar Joshi
Secretary: Dr Naveen Malhotra
Treasurer: Dr Virendra Sharma

Members: 2,178
Preferred Language: English
Year Joined: 1955
Region: SAARC-AA






Further Information



Country population: 1 billion 252m 

Number of physicians: 883,812 (2012) 

Source: WHO Country Profile 2015  

We had good academic and association activities during the year, new members were enrolled and the existing database of members was updated. Two General Body meetings, and four Governing Councils were conducted.

An online election was held to elect office bearers and more than 50% of members voted online. New office bearers took over on 29 December 2014.

The society conducted 16 CME (Continuing Medical Education) for postgraduates and practising anaesthesiologists, and supports CME in remote areas. Fellowships and scholarships were distributed with the help of WFSA. Four fellowship places were identified at Vellore, Hyderabad, Coimbatore and Guwahati.

Academic programs are conducted regularly with National Conference for four days, State Conferences for two days in all the states, Zonal Conferences for three days in six Zones and 1-2 days hands on workshops for practising anaesthesiologists all over the country. Postgraduate CMEs and workshops are conducted regularly for the benefit of students in many states and in major cities.

The Indian Journal of Anesthesia (IJA), is the society’s official journal, and is published bi-monthly both in print version and as open access online journal, now made into a monthly journal.