English Arabic Chinese (Simplified) French German Spanish

SAFE-T Summit 2019

SAFE T logo 400x400


SAFE-T Summit 2019

Royal Society of Medicine, London, April 5, 2019


The SAFE-T Summit 2018 was a huge success, with world-renowned experts travelling from around the world to speak at the event. The speakers opened sessions with theme-setting presentations, which were followed followed by panel discussions and contributions from the audience. Speakers included Tore Laerdal, Executive Director of the Laerdal Foundation, Chairman of Laerdal Medical, and Managing Director of Laerdal Global Health, Dr Atul Gawande, Professor of Surgery, Harvard Medical School and General and Endocrine Surgeon, Brigham and Women's Hospital, Dr David Whitaker, Consultant in Anaesthesia and Intensive Care at the Manchester Royal Infirmary, UK, and Dr John Meara, Professor of Surgery and Kletjian Professor of Global Surgery, Harvard Medical School. 


SAFET-T Summit 2019: Global equity and teamwork in anaesthesia and surgical care

Co-hosted by the World Federation of Societies of Anaesthesiologists (WFSA) and the Royal Society of Medicine (RSM), the second SAFE-T (Safe Anaesthesia for Everybody - Today) Summit will build on the success of the inaugural summit to advance the global patient safety agenda. Bringing together leaders from within and outside the perioperative team the SAFE-T Summit will highlight the importance of equity and teamwork in anaesthesia and surgical care, with a focus on perioperative safety through equity, ethics, gender, diversity and social strategies.

In partnership with related industry, governments and NGOs, this one day Summit will contribute to safer anaesthesia, surgical and obstetric care around the world.

World-renowned experts will open sessions with theme-setting presentations. Facilitated group discussions will develop recommendations and identify practical ways forward.

At the Summit, we will:

• Discuss the impact of inequity in Access to Perioperative and Anaesthesia Care and Safety
• Highlight and understand Nursing's Role in Perioperative Safety
• Consider Gender Gaps and other barriers to anaesthesia and perioperative safety
• Working Together: Teamwork and Advocacy in addressing the Safety Gap

This year, speakers will include Dr Jannicke Mellin-Olsen, WFSA President and Past President of the European Board of Anaesthesiology/UEMS, Dr Andrew Hartle, previous President of the Association of Anaesthetists and current Chair of the WFSA's Constitution Committee, Dr Janet Martin, Programme Director at The Centre for Medical Evidence, Decision Integrity & Clinical Impact (MEDICI), and Dr Jackie Rowles, President of the International Federation of Nurse Anesthetists. More speakers, including the Key Note speaker, will be announced shortly. 

Learning and recommendations from the summit will be published and disseminated internationally as part of the WFSA's SAFE-T Campaign.

SAFE T logo mergersm logo