COVID resources banner WCA2021 baner logo 2
English Arabic Chinese (Simplified) French German Spanish

Innovation & Awards

The World Federation of Societies of Anaesthesiologists is proud to announce the six winners of the 1st WFSA Innovation Awards sponsored by Baxter International.

Six innovations have been selected as winners of the award. These include innovations from anaesthesiologists in Canada, India, New Zealand, Rwanda, Sri Lanka and the United Kingdom.

Teaching in simulation Picture - CopyDr Christopher Hudson, Dr Viren Naik and Dr Emma J. Stodel, Professors at the University of Ottawa, have been awarded the WFSA Innovation Award for their creation of online tools to support a competency-based anesthesiology residency program.

"We are proud to be part of the leadership that is driving the next paradigm shift in education: to be recognised for this work along with other innovators in the field of anaesthesiology is extremely gratifying," Dr Stodel explained.

Dr Neha Singh, Assistant Professor at the Institute of Medical Sciences & Sum Hospital, Bhubaneswar, India, has created a low-cost head-rest for providing anaesthesia to patients in the prone position in the intensive care unit.Neha Singh Picture

"Risks  when  the  patient  is  in  this  position  range  from  minor  soft  tissue  injuries  to  catastrophic complications  like  postoperative  blindness.  These  risks  are  what  inspired  me  to  design  this innovative low-cost head rest,” Dr Singh explained.

Render - HYVAN Outer - Blue Logo

Dr John Hyndman (New Zealand) has been given the WFSA Innovation Award for his HYVAN Compact Anaesthesia machine.

The HYVAN is designed for use in developing countries where there is reliable electricity and access to volatile agents and soda lime. It is affordable, reliable, simple and able to be maintained by internal hospital workshops.

"Our  intention  is  not  to  make  money  but  rather  to  provide  a  cheap,  ultra-reliable  anaesthetic machine,” Hyndman said. “The WFSA award has given us the confidence to commission the manufacture of 50 HYVAN's in New Zealand. We are grateful to the WFSA. This award will make all the difference to the project’s success.” 

Dr-Paulin-Banguti-281x300Dr Paulin Ruhato Banguti, Consultant Anaesthesiologist working at King Faisal Hospital Rwanda, has won the award for his countrywide anaesthesia practice network (APN) for education, mentorship and patient safety in Rwanda.

"Practice improvements are difficult to make without support. Simple protocols and checklists can save lives. Through education and mentorship, the APN supports anaesthesia technicians and other health care providers in improving maternal care in Rwanda,” Dr Banguti explained.

Solar panel component for oxygen concentratorDr David Peel (UK) received the award for his creation of a solar powered oxygen concentrator that will create sustainable oxygen supplies for use in operating rooms in low resource settings:

"My initial reaction was euphoria as, at the age of 79, this is the first prize I have ever received for my work. The big challenge now is to fund the development of a prototype machine.” 

The WFSA Innovation Awards encourage and support innovation in anaesthesiology that has had – or is likely to have – a positive impact on surgical patient outcomes globally.

WFSA (World Federation of Societies of Anaesthesiologists) is the foremost global alliance of anaesthesiologists, working together with national, regional and specialty organisations to facilitate and promote the highest standards of patient care. 

Innovation in the field is a large part of improving standards in anaesthesia care globally and the WFSA is proud to announce the winners of the 1st WFSA Innovation Awards. 

Baxter logoBaxter International Inc, sponsors of the WFSA Innovation Awards said: "Innovation is at the core of Baxter's mission to save and sustain lives so we are delighted to support the advancement of anaesthesia by sponsoring the first ever WFSA Innovation Awards. We would like to congratulate all of the winners.”  

The winners will all attend an award ceremony at the World Congress of Anaesthesiologists in Hong Kong in 2016. The WFSA will provide full financial support for attendance at the Congress, an opportunity to showcase the innovations at the World Congress and a US $2,000 cash prize.

Fund A Fellow

Ninadini Shrestha Photo 1 small

Help us to transform anaesthesia care in lower income countries

All donations made to Fund a Fellow will go directly towards enabling young leaders in anaesthesia to access these amazing training opportunities and improve outcomes for thousands of patients around the world.